Skip to main content

Search NYU Steinhardt

Meeting

Master of Arts
Human Development Research and Policy

This program will prepare you to understand human development across the lifespan as well as the psychological, cultural, and socio-ecological factors that influence the contexts and systems in which people develop. You will learn to produce and critically assess research to inform the design, implementation, and monitoring and evaluation of policies and programs.

Request Info
Three students walking on sidewalk

Degree Details

Official Degree Title

MA in Human Development Research and Policy

Format
Full-time
Credits
30
Start Date
Fall
Application Deadline

Human Development Research and Policy (HDRP) will introduce you to the main theories and latest evidence in human development, equip you with the quantitative and qualitative research skills you need to assess and produce research in this field, and support you while you complete an internship at a site of your choice to practice applying what you learn. See our curriculum to learn more.

Some of the aspects that distinguish the HDRP from related master's programs are:

  • A solid foundation in human development theory and evidence. Most similar programs offer robust training on research methodology and statistics. What sets HDRP apart is that such training is anchored on theory and evidence from psychological science to enable you to design, implement, and evaluate interventions that are fit for purpose and context.
  • A robust training in quantitative and qualitative research methods. HDRP not only enables you to take up to four statistics courses (i.e., two required and up to two electives), but it also gives you the possibility to supplement this quantitative training with courses on psychological measurement, qualitative, and/or mixed methods.
  • An opportunity to apply your skills to real-world problems. Very few programs provide you with chances to practice applying what you learn about human development to real-world settings. HDRP offers you the opportunity to intern for a semester at a research lab; government, non-profit, or international organization; or policy advocacy/community-organizing setting while receiving scaffolding from faculty.

Our graduates will be prepared to pursue successful careers as:

  • Program/research associates in policy think tanks or universities
  • Research scientist/program officers in non-profits/foundations
  • Consultants in domestic and international organizations
  • Evaluation officers in the government, non-profit, or private sectors

When combined with additional research experience, the HDRP MA may also prepare you for doctoral studies in human development.

Program Benefits for International Students

If you’re an international student, you may be able to work in the United States after graduation for an extended period of time. Most students studying on F-1 visas will be eligible for 12 months of Optional Practical Training (OPT) off-campus work authorization. F-1 students in our program may also be eligible for the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics) OPT extension, allowing you to extend your time in the United States to pursue degree-related work experience for a total of 36 months or 3 years. For more information on who can apply for this extension visit NYU’s Office of Global Services: STEM OPT.

Questions 

If you have any additional questions about our degree, please feel free to contact us at hdrp-steinhardt@nyu.edu.

Faculty

J. Lawrence Aber

Willner Family Professor of Psychology and Public Policy and University Professor

la39@nyu.edu

Alisha Ali

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology

alisha.ali@nyu.edu

LaRue Allen

Vice Dean of Faculty Affairs; Raymond and Rosalee Weiss Professor of Applied Psychology

larue.allen@nyu.edu

Joshua Aronson

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology

joshua.aronson@nyu.edu

Rezarta Bilali

Associate Professor of Psychology and Social Intervention

rezarta.bilali@nyu.edu

Clancy Blair

Professor, Joint Faculty NYU School of Medicine and Steinhardt Applied Psychology

clancy.blair@nyu.edu

Natalie H. Brito

Assistant Professor of Applied Psychology

natalie.brito@nyu.edu

Elise Cappella

Vice Dean for Research, Professor

elise.cappella@nyu.edu

Anil Chacko

Associate Professor of Counseling Psychology

anil.chacko@nyu.edu

Alejandro J. Ganimian

Assistant Professor of Applied Psychology and Economics

alejandro.ganimian@nyu.edu

Erin Godfrey

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology

erin.godfrey@nyu.edu

Diane Hughes

Professor of Applied Psychology

diane.hughes@nyu.edu

Shabnam Javdani

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology

shabnam.javdani@nyu.edu

Gigliana Melzi

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology

gigliana.melzi@nyu.edu

Pamela A. Morris

Professor of Applied Psychology

pamela.morris@nyu.edu

Edward Seidman

Department Chair; Professor of Applied Psychology

edward.seidman@nyu.edu

Selcuk Sirin

Professor of Applied Psychology

sirins@nyu.edu

William Tsai

Assistant Professor of Applied Psychology

will.tsai@nyu.edu

Niobe Way

Professor of Applied Psychology

niobe.way@nyu.edu

A. Jordan Wright

Clinical Associate Professor of Applied Psychology

ajordanwright@nyu.edu

Hirokazu Yoshikawa

Courtney Sale Ross University Professor of Globalization and Education at Steinhardt, Applied Psychology

hy2042@nyu.edu