Skip to main content

Search NYU Steinhardt

The NYU Steinhardt Diversity Council formed in 2016 as the School's advisory committee on diversity, equity, and inclusion matters. The Council also serves as a safe space for members to discuss any challenges, share accomplishments, and plan for upcoming changes in higher education. Under the leadership of the inaugural Associate Dean of Faculty Development and Diversity Dr. Charlton Mcllwain, and the current leadership of Dr. Stella Flores, the Council has established a caring community of faculty and staff and has worked to support initiatives such as the Faculty First-Look program, the Steinhardt Visiting Artist in Residence, the Diversity Innovation grants, and Black History Month presentations. 

The Diversity Council

Alisha Ali

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology

Noel Anderson

Chairperson, Administration, Leadership, and Technology Department

Noel W. Anderson

Clinical Assistant Professor of Printmaking

Offiong Aqua

Clinical Associate Professor

María Rosa Brea

Clinical Associate Professor; Director, Bilingual Extension Program

Belinda Carrasco

Clinical Assistant Professor in Counseling Psychology

Hua-Yu Sebastian Cherng

Associate Professor of International Education (On Sabbatical Leave 2020-2021)

Carlos Chirinos

Clinical Music and Global Health Associate Professor; Director NYU Music and Social Change Lab

Fabienne Doucet

Associate Professor of Early Childhood and Urban Education (On Leave 2019-2021)

Stella Flores

Associate Professor of Higher Education; Director of Access and Equity, Steinhardt Institute for Higher Education Policy (2020-2021 Sabbatical)

Michael Funk

Clinical Assistant Professor of Higher Education

Usheevii King

Program Director, Center for Faculty Advancement

Nija Monet Leocadio

Sr. Graduate Student Engagement Administrator

Mireya Loza

Assistant Professor of Food Studies

Charlton McIlwain

Vice Provost for Faculty Engagement and Development; Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication

Mara Mills

Associate Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication

Shondel Nero

Professor of Language Education (2020-2021 Sabbatical)

Janet Njelesani

Assistant Professor of Occupational Therapy

Maria Ramirez

Director of Equity Initiatives

Joe Salvatore

Clinical Associate Professor of Educational Theatre

Frances Stage

Professor of Higher Education

Lisa M. Stulberg

Associate Professor of Sociology of Education

Audrey Trainor

Professor of Special Education; Content Director, Programs in Special Education

Natalie M. Zwerger (she/her)

Director, Center for Strategic Solutions