Skip to main content

Search NYU Steinhardt

The NYU Steinhardt Diversity Council formed in 2016 as the School's advisory committee on diversity, equity, and inclusion matters. The Council also serves as a safe space for members to discuss any challenges, share accomplishments, and plan for upcoming changes in higher education. Under the leadership of the inaugural Associate Dean of Faculty Development and Diversity Dr. Charlton Mcllwain, and the current leadership of Dr. Stella Flores, the Council has established a caring community of faculty and staff and has worked to support initiatives such as the Faculty First-Look program, the Steinhardt Visiting Artist in Residence, the Diversity Innovation grants, and Black History Month presentations. 

The Diversity Council

Alisha Ali

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology (On Leave Fall 2019)

alisha.ali@nyu.edu

Noel Anderson

Chairperson, Administration, Leadership, and Technology Department

nsa204@nyu.edu

Noel W. Anderson

Clinical Assistant Professor of Printmaking

nwa1@nyu.edu

Offiong Aqua

Clinical Associate Professor

ooa1@nyu.edu

Maria Brea

Clinical Associate Professor; Director, Bilingual Extension Program

mrb17@nyu.edu

Belinda Carrasco

Clinical Assistant Professor in Counseling Psychology

belindacarrasco@nyu.edu

Hua-Yu Sebastian Cherng

Associate Professor of International Education

cherng@nyu.edu

Carlos Chirinos

Clinical Music and Global Health Associate Professor; Director NYU Music and Social Change Lab

carlos.chirinos@nyu.edu

Fabienne Doucet

Associate Professor of Early Childhood and Urban Education (On Leave 2019-2021)

fd30@nyu.edu

Stella Flores

Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Diversity; Associate Professor of Higher Education; Director of Access and Equity, Steinhardt Institute for Higher Education Policy

stella.flores@nyu.edu

Michael Funk

Clinical Assistant Professor of Higher Education

mike.funk@nyu.edu

Usheevii King

Program Director, Center for Faculty Advancement

usheevii.king@nyu.edu

Nija Monet Leocadio

Sr. Graduate Student Engagement Administrator

nija.leocadio@nyu.edu

Mireya Loza

Assistant Professor of Food Studies

mloza@nyu.edu

Charlton McIlwain

Vice Provost for Faculty Engagement and Development; Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication

cdm1@nyu.edu

Mara Mills

Associate Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication

mmills@nyu.edu

Shondel Nero

Professor of Language Education

shondel.nero@nyu.edu

Janet Njelesani

Assistant Professor of Occupational Therapy

janet.njelesani@nyu.edu

Maria Ramirez

Assistant Director for Faculty Development and Diversity

maria.ramirez@nyu.edu

Joe Salvatore

Clinical Associate Professor of Educational Theatre

js1655@nyu.edu

Frances Stage

Professor of Higher Education

fks1@nyu.edu

Lisa M. Stulberg

Associate Professor of Sociology of Education

lisa.stulberg@nyu.edu

Audrey Trainor

Professor of Special Education; Content Director, Programs in Special Education

aat8@nyu.edu

Natalie M. Zwerger

Director, Center for Strategic Solutions

nz11@nyu.edu