Skip to main content

Search NYU Steinhardt

The Council for Action and Advocacy United for Social Justice and Equity (CAUSE)

The Council for Action and Advocacy United for Social Justice and Equity (CAUSE) formed in 2016 as the Steinhardt Diversity Council and initially served as the School's advisory committee on diversity, equity, and inclusion matters. The Council was renamed in the fall of 2020 to align with the new office of Equity, Belonging, and Community Action. The Council serves as a safe space for members to discuss any challenges, share accomplishments, and plan for upcoming changes in higher education. Under the leadership of the inaugural Associate Dean of Faculty Development and Diversity Dr. Charlton Mcllwain, the previous leadership of Dr. Stella Flores, and the current leadership of Dr. David E. Kirkland, the Council has established a caring community of faculty and staff and has worked to support initiatives such as the Faculty First-Look program, the Steinhardt Visiting Artist in Residence, the Diversity Innovation grants, and Black History Month presentations. The Council will now partner with the Office of Equity, Belonging, and Community Action and other community members to advise and support all equity initiatives at the School.

The Council

Alisha Ali

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology

Audrey Trainor

Professor of Special Education; Content Director, Programs in Special Education

Carlos Chirinos

Music and Global Health Associate Professor and Director NYU Music and Social Change Lab

Charlton McIlwain

Vice Provost for Faculty Engagement and Development; Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication

David Kirkland

Executive Director of NYU Metropolitan Center for Research on Equity and the Transformation of Schools; Associate Professor of English and Urban Education

Fabienne Doucet

Associate Professor of Early Childhood and Urban Education (On Leave 2019-2021)

Frances Stage

Professor of Higher Education

Hua-Yu Sebastian Cherng

Associate Professor of International Education (On Sabbatical Leave 2020-2021)

Janet Njelesani

Assistant Professor of Occupational Therapy

Joe Salvatore

Clinical Professor of Educational Theatre

Lisa M. Stulberg

Associate Professor of Sociology of Education

Mara Mills

Associate Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication

Maria Ramirez

Director of Equity Initiatives

María Rosa Brea

Clinical Associate Professor; Director, Bilingual Extension Program

Michael Funk

Program Director of Higher and Postsecondary Education; Clinical Associate Professor

Natalie M. Zwerger (she/her)

Director, Center for Strategic Solutions

Nija Monet Leocadio

Sr. Graduate Student Engagement Administrator

Noel Anderson

Clinical Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Noel W. Anderson

Clinical Assistant Professor of Printmaking

Offiong Aqua

Clinical Associate Professor

Shondel Nero

Professor of Language Education (2020-2021 Sabbatical)

Usheevii King

Program Director, Center for Faculty Advancement