The Barney Building
This six story Beaux Arts building houses all of the Art Department's studios, shops, and labs, as well as classrooms, exhibition spaces, and faculty offices. Formerly the home of the Hebrew Technical Institute, the Barney Building was named to honor Edgar S. Barney, principal of the Institute for nearly 50 years. It was remodeled in 1939 by the University for use in the expansion of its programs in industrial education. The Department of Art and Art Professions relocated to the Barney Building in 1990.
Barney Building facilities include studio classrooms and workshops for sculpture, printmaking, painting, drawing, ceramics, metalsmithing, and sewing. In addition to photography labs, the building houses a fabrication lab, digital labs, and printing studios.
Email general inquiries or call our main office at 212-998-5700.
The Commons is a unique Beaux Arts exhibition and performance space with beautiful two-story clerestory windows. Student exhibitions change every 2-3 weeks and the space provides a venue for interdisciplinary collaborations, receptions, photo and video shoots, workshops, meetings, and public events.
The 12,000 square foot 20 Cooper facilities provide individual studio spaces for all Senior BFAs. The space is comprised of 62-square foot individual studio cubicles, a student lounge, computer stations, two 60” monitors, a projector for digital work, plus four installation areas for critiques. Each studio is outfitted with a work table and locking storage.
On most Thursday evenings during the Fall semester, the Visiting Artist and Curator lecture series is held in the Einstein Auditorium beginning at 5 pm. This series is one of dozens of public programs held in the auditorium each year. Recently renovated, the Einstein Auditorium seats 95. It's a fully equipped audio/visual facility that offers an intimate setting for classes, lectures, screenings, and panel discussions.