Graduate Student Advisement

Information for Master's Students

 Administration, Leadership, and Technology

82 Washington Square East, 7th Floor
Colleen Larson, Chair

Program/Advisor(s)Orientation Dates

Business Education

Bridget O'Connor
212-998-5488
bridget.oconnor@nyu.edu


Educational Communication and Technology

Ricki Goldman
212-998-5524
ricki@nyu.edu

Francine Shuchat Shaw
212-998-5187
francine.shaw@nyu.edu

Jan Plass
212-998-5658
jan.plass@nyu.edu

Christopher Hoadley
212-993-5520
tophe@nyu.edu

Educational Leadership

Gary Anderson
212-998-5177
gary.anderson@nyu.edu

Terry Astuto
212-998-5179
terry.astuto@nyu.edu

Colleen Larson
212-998-5512
colleen.larson@nyu.edu

Higher Education Administration

Ann Marcus
212-998-5005
ann.marcus@nyu.edu

Matthew Mayhew
212-998-5068
matt.mayhew@nyu.edu

Teboho Moja
212-998-5589
teboho.moja@nyu.edu

Frances Stage
212-998-5535
fks1@nyu.edu

Educational Leadership
Day/Hour: Thursday, 4:00 p.m.
Date: August 29, 2013
Call 212-998-5520 for location and further information

Orientation for other Fall 2013 incoming Administration, Leadership and Technology students will be scheduled by program; please contact your academic adviser for more information.

For general information, questions, or issues requiring a quick response during the summer months, contact the departmental office at 212-998-5520. 

Applied Psychology

Kimball Hall, 246 Green Street, 7th Floor
LaRue Allen, Chair

Program/Advisor(s)Orientation Dates

Counseling for Mental Health and Wellness

Erika Jackson
212-998-5604
ej27@nyu.edu

Human Development and Social Intervention

Erika Jackson
212-998-5604
ej27@nyu.edu

School Counseling

Erika Jackson
212-998-5604
ej27@nyu.edu

Students should view orientation information

Students will also receive a link to online orientation in June.

Art and Art Professions

Barney Building, 34 Stuyvesant Street, 3rd Floor
David Darts, Chair

Program/Advisor(s)Orientation Dates

Art Education 

Dipti Desai
212-998-9022
dd25@nyu.edu

Erin Sircy
212-998-5753
erin.sircy@nyu.edu

Art Therapy

Ikuko Acosta
212-998-5726
ia4@nyu.edu

Costume Studies

Nancy Deihl
212-998-5762
ndb2012@nyu.edu


Studio Art

Mary Ann Santos
212-998-5702
mas9@nyu.edu



Visual Arts Administration

Erin Sircy
212-998-5753
ecs214@nyu.edu

Sandra Lang
212-998-5723
sandra.lang@nyu.edu

 Art Education
Day and Hour: Tuesday, 12:00 - 4:00 pm
Date: May 28, 2013
Location: Barney 6E, 34 Stuyvesant Street
Contact: 212-998-9022

 


Art Therapy

Day and Hour: Thursday, 5:00 pm
Date: August 29, 2013
Location: Barney, 1st Floor, 34 Stuyvesant Street
Contact: 212-998-5726

Costume Studies

Day and Hour: Thursday, 10:00 am
Date: August 29, 2013
Location: Barney 403, 34 Stuyvesant Street
Contact: 212-998-5762

Studio Art - MFA

Day and Hour: Tuesday, 11:00 am
Date: August 27, 2013
Location: Barney 6E, 34 Stuyvesant Street
Contact: 212-998-5762


Visual Arts Administration

Day and Hour: Wednesday, 12:00 pm
Date: August 28, 2013
Location: Barney 6E, 34 Stuyvesant Street
Contact: 212-998-5700

Media, Culture, and Communication

East Building, 239 Greene Street, 8th Floor
Lisa Gitelman, Chair

AdvisorOrientation Dates

212-998-5191

Day and Hour: Wednesday, 5:30 - 7:30 pm
Date: August 28, 2013
Location: TBA
Contact: 212-998-5130
RSVP for the orientation

Humanities and Social Sciences in the Professions

Kimball Hall, 246 Greene Street, 3rd Floor
Jonathan Zimmerman, Chair

Program/Advisor(s)Orientation Dates

Applied Statistics in Social Science Research M.S.

Jennifer Hill
212-992-7677
jennifer.hill@nyu.edu

Marc Scott
212-9929407
ms184@nyu.edu

Education and Jewish Studies

Robert Chazen
212-998-8976
rc2@nyu.edu

Ben Jacobs
212-992-9472
bjacobs@nyu.edu

Yehudis (Jude) Kramer
212.992.9494
yk932@nyu.edu

Harold Wechsler
212-992-9423
harold.wechsler@nyu.edu

Education and Social Policy
Leanna Stiefel
212-998-5758
leanna.stiefel@nyu.edu

Letizia La Rosa
212-992-9408
letizia.larosa@nyu.edu

Erinn Bernstein
212-998-5639
erinn.bernstein@nyu.edu

History of Education

Jonathan Zimmerman
212-998-5049
jlzimm@aol.com

International Education

Philip Hosay
212-998-5496
philip.hosay@nyu.edu

Letizia La Rosa
212-992-9408
letizia.larosa@nyu.edu

Erinn Bernstein
212-998-5639
erinn.bernstein@nyu.edu

Philosophy of Education

Rene Arcilla
212-998-5631
rene.arcilla@nyu.edu

Sociology of Education

Lisa Stulberg
212-992-9373
lms9@nyu.edu

Letizia La Rosa
212-992-9408
letizia.larosa@nyu.edu

Erinn Bernstein
212-998-5639
erinn.bernstein@nyu.edu

Orientation for Fall 2013 incoming students: Please contact an advisor for further information.


Music and Performing Arts Professions

Education Building, 25 West 4th Street, 10th Floor
Ronald Sadoff, Chair

Program/Advisor(s)Orientation Dates

Dance Education

Patricia Cohen
212-998-5406
pc76@nyu.edu

Susan Koff
212-992-9384
susan.koff@nyu.edu

Suzanne Lamberg
212-998-5406
sl121@nyu.edu

Drama Therapy

Robert Landy
212-998-5258
rjl1@nyu.edu

Educational Theatre

David Montgomery
212-998-5869
dm635@nyu.edu

Joseph Salvatore
212-998-5266
joe.salvatore@nyu.edu

Nancy Smithner
212-998-5250
ns23@nyu.edu

Philip Taylor
212-998-5769
pt15@nyu.edu

Instrumental Studies - Brass
John Rojak
212-998-5424
jdr6@nyu.edu

Instrumental Studies - Jazz Studies

Gabriel Alegria
212-998-5516
gaa7@nyu.edu

David Schroeder
212-998-5446
ds38@nyu.edu

Instrumental Studies - Piano

Marilyn Nonken
212-998-5612
marilyn.nonken@nyu.edu

Instrumental Studies - Strings

Stephanie Baer
212-992-9447
stephanie.baer@nyu.edu

Instrumental Studies - Woodwind

Esther Lamneck
212-998-5441
el2@nyu.edu

Music Busines

Shanieka Brooks
212-998-5766
sdb328@nyu.edu

Catherine Moore
212.998.5439
catherine.moore@nyu.edu

Music Education

David Elliott
212.998.5404
david.elliott@nyu.edu

John Gilbert
212-998-5778
john.gilbert@nyu.edu

Nancy Shankman
212-998-5539
nancy.shankman@nyu.edu

Music Technology

Eleanor Lee
212-998-5071
el1696@nyu.edu

Juan Bello
212-998-5736
jpbello@nyu.edu

Mary Farbood
212.992.7680
mfarbood@nyu.edu

Kenneth Peacock
212-998-5431
kp3@nyu.edu

Agnieszka Roginska
212-998-5141
roginska@nyu.edu

Music Therapy

Barbara Hesser
212-998-5452
barbara.hesser@nyu.edu

Music Composition

Julia Wolfe
212-998-5435
j.wolfe@nyu.edu

Tae Hong Park
212-998-5424
thp1@nyu.edu

Film Scoring/Composition

Ron Sadoff
212-998-5779
ron.sadoff@nyu.edu

Vocal Performance

Meg Bussert
212-992-9446
meg.bussert@nyu.edu

Brian Gill
212-998-9451
brian.gill@nyu.edu

Dianna Heldman
212-998-5770
dianna.heldman@nyu.edu

Grant Wenaus
212-998-5451
grant.wenaus@nyu.edu

William Wesbrooks
212-998-5739
bill.wesbrooks@nyu.edu

Performing Arts Administration

Brann Wry
212-998-5505
brann.wry@nyu.edu

Orientation - Music and Performing Arts Professions
Students should contact an advisor for further information.

 Nutrition, Food Studies, and Public Health

411 Lafayette Street, 5th Floor
Krishnendu Ray, Chair

Program/Advisor(s)Orientation Dates

Food Studies/Food Management

Jennifer Berg
212-998-5580
jennifer.berg@nyu.edu

Carolyn Dimitri
212-998-5580
carolyn.dimitri@nyu.edu

Sharonda McKinney-Brown
212-998-5580
sharonda.mckinneybrown@nyu.edu

NYU Dietetic Internship

Lisa Sasson
212-998.5580
nutrition@nyu.edu

Nutrition and Dietetics

Domingo Pinero
212-998-5580
nutrition@nyu.edu

Frederick Tripp
212-998-5580
nutrition@nyu.edu

 In lieu of a single orientation session for graduate students, registration in one of the following zero credit New Graduate Student Seminars is required of all new graduate students.

FOOD-GE 2000 001 (Class# 3217)
Current Research in Food Studies for Major: FOOD, 1 unit
Meets on seven Tuesdays (Dates TBA) 6:45 p.m. - 8:25 p.m.

NUTR-GE 2000 001 (Class# 4392)
Nutrition New Graduate Student Seminar for Major: HOND
Fall term: Meets on five Mondays (Dates TBA) 12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Spring term: Meets on five Tuesdays (Dates TBA) 6:45 p.m. - 8:15 p.m.

 

Occupational Therapy

Education Building, 35 West 4th Street, Eleventh Floor
Kristie Koenig, Chair

Program/AdvisorsOrientation Dates

Occupational Therapy (Professional)

Offiong Aqua
212-998-5839
ooa1@nyu.edu

Jane Bear-Lehman
212-998-5846
jbl285@nyu.edu

Karen Buckley
212-998-5837
karen.buckley@nyu.edu

Tracy Chippendale
tlc223@nyu.edu

Yael Goverover
212-998-5854
yg243@nyu.edu

Jim Hinojosa
212-998-5845
jh9@nyu.edu

Tsu-Hsin Howe
212.998.7682
tsuhsin.howe@nyu.edu

Kristie Koenig
212-998-5852
kpk3@nyu.edu

Anita Perr
212-998-5833
anita.perr@nyu.edu

Sally Poole
212-998-5851
sp3@nyu.edu

Gerry Voelbel
212-998-5827
gv23@nyu.edu

Advanced Occupational Therapy (Post-Professional)

Kristie Koenig
212-998-5852
kpk3@nyu.edu

Occupational Therapy (DPS

Offiong Aqua
212-998-5839
ooa1@nyu.edu

Jane Bear-Lehman
212-998-5846
jbl.285@nyu.edu

Karen Buckley
212-998-5837
karen.buckley@nyu.edu

Tracy Chippendale
tlc223@nyu.edu

Yael Goverover
212-998-5854
yg243@nyu.edu

Jim Hinojosa
212-998-5845
jh9@nyu.edu

Tsu-Hsin Howe
212-998-7682
tsuhsin.howe@nyu.edu

Kristie Koenig
212-998-5852
kpk3@nyu.edu

Anita Perr
212-998-5833
anita.perr@nyu.edu

Sally Poole
212-998-5851
sp3@nyu.edu

Gerry Voelbel
212-998-5827
gv23@nyu.edu

Research in Occupational Therapy (PhD)

Jane Bear-Lehman
212-998-5846
jbl.285@nyu.edu

Yael Goverover
212-998-5854
yg243@nyu.edu

Jim Hinojosa
212-998-5845
jh9@nyu.edu

Tsu-Hsin Howe
212-998-7682
tsuhsin.howe@nyu.edu

Kristie Koenig
212-998-5852
kpk3@nyu.edu

Gerry Voelbel
212-998-5827
gv23@nyu.edu

Orientation - Occupational Therapy
Students should contact an advisor for further information

 Communicative Sciences and Disorders

665 Broadway, 9th Floor
Christina Reuterskjold, Chair

Program/Advisor(s)Orientation Dates

Speech-Language Pathology (MS)

Academic Advisor: 

Erin Embry
212-998-5230
ee28@nyu.edu

Professional Advisors:

Adam Buchwald
212-998-5230
buchwald@nyu.edu

Harriet Klein
212-998-5230
harriet.klein@nyu.edu

Susannah Levi
212-998-5230
svlevi@nyu.edu

Tara McAllister-Byun
212-992-9445
tkm214@nyu.edu

Christine Reuterskiold
212-998-5230
ecw4@nyu.edu

Diana van Lancker Sidtis
212-998-5230
diana.sidtis@nyu.edu

Celia Stewart
212-998-5320
cs8@nyu.edu

Speech-Language Pathology/Audiology (PhD)

Adam Buchwald
212-998-5230
buchwald@nyu.edu

Maria Grigos
212-998-5230
maria.grigos@nyu.edu

Harriet Klein
212-998-5230
harriet.klein@nyu.edu

Susannah Levi
212-998-5230
svlevi@nyu.edu

Tara McAllister-Byun
212-992-9445
tkm214@nyu.edu

Christine Reuterskiold
212-998-5230
ecw4@nyu.edu

Diana van Lancker Sidtis
212-998-5230
diana.sidtis@nyu.edu

Celia Stewart
212-9985320
cs8@nyu.edu

Orientation - Students should contact the department for further information

Teaching and Learning

East Building, 239 Greene Street, 6th Floor
Susan Neuman, Chair

Program/AdvisorsOrientation Dates

Early Childhood Education
Roberto Martinez
212-998-5458
roberto.martinez@nyu.edu

Early Childhood Special Education
Barbara Schwartz
212-998-5460
barbara.schwartz@nyu.edu

Childhood Education
Joseph Rafter
212-998-5460
joe.rafter@nyu.edu

Roberto Martinez
212-998-5458
roberto.martinez@nyu.edu 

Childhood Special Education
Joan Rosenberg
212-998-5460
joan.rosenberg@nyu.edu

Roberto Martinez
212-998-5458
roberto.martinez@nyu.edu

English Education
Sarah Beck
212-998-5473
swb2@nyu.edu

Khanh Le
212-998-9368
khanh.le@nyu.edu

Environmental Conservation Education
Mary Leou
212-998-5474
mary.leou@nyu.ed

Roberto Martinez
212-998-5458
roberto.martinez@nyu.edu 

Literacy Education
Katherine Stahl
212-998-5204
Kay.stahl@nyu.edu

Khanh Le
212.998.9368
khanh.le@nyu.edu

Mathematics Education

Judith Green
212.998.5200
jag282@nyu.edu

Roberto Martinez
212-998-5458
roberto.martinez@nyu.edu

Multilingual/Multicultural Studies (Bilingual Education, Foreign Lanuage Education and TESOL)

Shondel Nero
212-998-5498
sin1@nyu.edu

Frank Tang
212-998-5469
frank.tang@nyu.edu

Khanh Le
212-998-9368
khanh.le@nyu.edu

Science Education

Pamela Fraser-Abder
212-998-5208
pamela.abder@nyu.edu

Roberto Martinez
212-998-5458
roberto.martinez@nyu.edu

Social Studies Education

Diana Turk
212-998-5492
dt23@nyu.edu

Khanh Le
212-998-9368
khanh.le@nyu.edu

General Orientation for ALL Teaching and Learning Students:

Day/Hour: Thursday, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Date: August 29, 2013
Kimmel Center, Room 905-907, 60 Washington Square South

English Education
Day/Hour: Wednesday, 3:00 p.m.  - 5:00 p.m.
Date: May 29, 2013
Location: Pless Hall, 7th Floor, 82 Washington Square East
OR

Day/Hour: Thursday, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Date: August 29, 2013
Location: Pless Hall, 7th Floor, 82 Washington Square East

Literacy Education
Day/Hour: Wednesday, 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Date: June 5, 2013
Location: Pless Hall, 7th Floor, 82 Washington Square East

Multilingual/Multicultural Studies
Day/Hour: Monday, 2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Date: August 19, 2013
Location: Pless Hall, 3rd Floor, 82 Washington Square East
OR
Day/Hour: Wednesday, 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Date August 28, 2013
Location: Kimmel Center, Room 905-907, 60 Washington Square South

OR

Day/Hour: Thursday, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.  OR
Day/Hour: Thursday, 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Date August 29, 2013
Location: Kimmel Center, Room 905-907, 60 Washington Square South

Social Studies Education
Day/Hour: Tuesday, 6:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Date: June 4, 2013
Location: Pless Hall, 7th Floor, 82 Washington Square East

Academic Planner For New Graduate Students