Steinhardt Alumna Wins Tony for Hello, Dolly!

Heni Koenigsberg (’74), a producer for Hello, Dolly!, has won a Tony Award for Best Revival of a Musical.

Koenigsberg was also nominated in the category of Best Play as a producer for A Doll’s House, Part 2. 

Koenigsberg has won several Tony Awards as a producer; she won last year for A View From the Bridge, in 2015 for Skylight, and in 2014 for A Raisin in the Sun, all of which took the award for Best Revival of a Play.

Two additional Steinhardt alumni helped bring some of this year’s best plays and musicals to Broadway: Daniel Rakowski (’11) produced Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812, nominated for Best Musical, and Stuart Thompson (’83) produced Sweat, nominated for Best Play, and John Guare’s Six Degrees of Separation, nominated for Best Revival of a Play.

Now in their 71st year, the American Theatre Wing’s Annual Antoinette Perry “Tony” Awards honor excellence on Broadway in 24 competitive categories. The nominees are selected by an independent and rotating committee of 50 theater experts appointed by the Tony Awards Administration Committee. Tony Award winners are selected by 846 Tony voters comprised of producers, performers, and other industry professionals. The awards ceremony, presented by the Broadway League and the American Theater Wing and hosted by Kevin Spacey, was broadcast live last night on CBS.