Pedro Noguera and Hiro Yoshikawa Elected to National Academy of Education

Pedro Noguera and Hiro Yoshikawa have been elected to membership in the National Academy of Education (NAEd).

In announcing their election, Michael Feuer, president of NAEd, noted that the Steinhardt faculty members are among fourteen education leaders chosen for their valuable contributions to educational research and policy development.

The National Academy of Education advances high quality education research in policy formation and practice. Founded in 1965, the organization is comprised of U.S. members and foreign associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education.

Pedro Noguera, the Peter L. Agnew Professor of Education, is a sociologist whose scholarship and research focuses on the ways in which schools are influenced by social and economic conditions, as well as by demographic trends in local, regional and global contexts.

Hirokazu Yoshikawa, the Courtney Sale Ross University Professor of Globalization and Education at Steinhardt, is a community and developmental psychologist who studies the effects of public policies and programs related to immigration, early childhood, and poverty reduction on children’s development.

(Photos:  Pedro Noguera, Hiro Yoshikawa).