Two Music Tech Students Win AES Awards

NYU Steinhardt News

Two Music Tech Students Win AES Awards

Two Music Technology students won awards at the recent Audio Engineering Society 2013 Convention’s Student Design Competition. Mackenzie Starr received an honorable mention for the undergraduate category and Illia Balashov was awarded a gold award for the graduate category.

Six student finalists, three undergraduate and three graduate, presented and defended their designs before the panel of expert judges. This competition is a chance for students to have their work reviewed by experts in the field and for companies to meet potential new employees. 

The competition took place on Friday, October 18, 2013, and was judged by Dave Amels, AnaMod Analog Modeling/Bomb Factory Digital; Bill Whitlock, Jensen Transformers; Dave Hill, Crane Song/Dave Hill Designs; Scott Dorsey, Stinger-Ghaffarian Technologies (formerly at Raytheon Technical Services).

There were few restrictions placed on student entrants—they could have both audio and non-audio backgrounds, though their submissions had to use audio.

The 135th International AES Convention took place at the Jacob Javits Center in New York City from October 17-20, 2013.