NYU Steinhardt News

Stage Receives Fulbright Senior Specialists Award

Frances Stage, professor of higher education in Steinhardt's department of administration, leadership, and technology, has been selected for a Fulbright Senior Specialists project at the University of West Indies in Mona, Jamaica, for six weeks during the summer of 2008.

Stage will work with the University's School of Education in the area of educational assessment, evaluation and research methods to support staff in curriculum development at the graduate level and staff development in graduate supervision and student support. Stage will also provide support as the School offers leadership and guidance to policymakers as well as outreach educational activities to various stakeholders across the Caribbean region.

Stage is one of over 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Senior Specialists Program. The Fulbright Senior Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America's flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, Chairman of the Board of Intel Corporation. Distinguished Fulbright Senior Specialist participants include Mahmoud Ayoub, Professor of Religion at Temple University, Heidi Hartmann, President and CEO, Institute for Women's Policy Research, Percy R. Luney, Jr. Dean and Professor, College of Law, Florida A&M University and Emily Vargas-Barone, Founder and Executive Director of the RISE Institute.

For further information about the Fulbright Senior Specialists Program, please contact FULSPEC@cies.iie.org or consult www.cies.org.