Composition Faculty Dello Joio Wins Composer of the Year Award

NYU Steinhardt News

Composition Faculty Dello Joio Wins Composer of the Year Award

­The Classical Recording Foundation (CRF) is pleased to announce the 2007 winners of its annual Classical Recording Foundation Awards, which will be presented at an Awards Ceremony and Benefit at 8:00 pm on October 30 at Carnegie Hall's Weill Recital Hall.  This is the sixth annual Awards Ceremony for the Foundation.

The CRF Composer of the Year is Justin Dello Joio, who receives the award for the first-ever recording of three of recent works, which was released by Bridge Records in March 2007 on a disc featuring pianist Garrick Ohlsson, violinist Ani Kavafian, cellist Carter Brey, and pianist Jeremy Denk.

The Classical Recording Foundation applies the universal model of philanthropically-supported live concerts to the recording of new classical performances.  Since 2002, when it was founded by Grammy Award winning producer Adam Abeshouse, it has supported more than 20 new recordings.  Each Award is tied to a fund administered by the Foundation and the participating record company, to accomplish the tasks of recording and promoting the awardee's recording project.  The Award selection process begins with nominations by internationally renowned artists and scholars.  Nominees are considered by an anonymous Grant Award Committee, which annually decides on the recipients and Award amounts.  Criteria for Classical Recording Foundation Awards include artistic merit of the project, historic significance, strategic value to the artist's career, and breadth of interest.

To read more about Professor Justin Dello Joio, click here for his bio.