Graduate Student Advisement

Information for Master's Students

 Administration, Leadership, and Technology

82 Washington Square East, 7th Floor
Colleen Larson, Chair

Administration, Leadership, and Technology
Program/Adviser(s)Orientation Dates

Business Education

Bridget O'Connor
212-998-5488
bridget.oconnor@nyu.edu


Educational Communication and Technology

Maaike Bouwmeester
646-997-0736
mb262@nyu.edu

Jan Plass
212-998-5658
jan.plass@nyu.edu

Christopher Hoadley
212-993-5520
tophe@nyu.edu

Educational Leadership

Gary Anderson
212-998-5177
gary.anderson@nyu.edu

Terry Astuto
212-998-5179
terry.astuto@nyu.edu

Colleen Larson
212-998-5512
colleen.larson@nyu.edu

Higher Education Administration

Ann Marcus
212-998-5005
ann.marcus@nyu.edu

Matthew Mayhew
212-998-5068
matt.mayhew@nyu.edu

Teboho Moja
212-998-5589
teboho.moja@nyu.edu

Frances Stage
212-998-5535
fks1@nyu.edu

Educational Leadership
Day/Hour: Thursday, 4:00 p.m.
Date: August 29, 2013
Call 212-998-5520 for location and further information

Orientation for other Fall 2013 incoming Administration, Leadership and Technology students will be scheduled by program; please contact your academic adviser for more information.

For general information, questions, or issues requiring a quick response during the summer months, contact the departmental office at 212-998-5520. 

Applied Psychology

Kimball Hall, 246 Green Street, 7th Floor
LaRue Allen, Chair

Applied Psychology
Program/Adviser(s)Orientation Dates

Counseling for Mental Health and Wellness

Jade Hermes: 
Last names A-F 
212-992-9487 
jh5728@nyu.edu 
Schedule an appointment

Zacharia Ahmed: 
Last names G-N 
212-998-5984 
za14@nyu.edu 
Schedule an appointment

Kimberly Bassalian: 
Last names O-Z 
212-998-5051 
kdb257@nyu.edu 
Schedule an appointment

Human Development and Social Intervention

Zacharia Ahmed: 
Last names A-M 
212-998-5984 
za14@nyu.edu 
Schedule an appointment

Kimberly Bassalian: 
Last names N-Z 
212-998-5051 
kdb257@nyu.edu 
Schedule an appointment

School Counseling

Jade Hermes: 
Last names A-F 
212-992-9487 
jh5728@nyu.edu 
Schedule an appointment

Zacharia Ahmed: 
Last names G-N 
212-998-5984 
za14@nyu.edu 
Schedule an appointment

Kimberly Bassalian: 
Last names O-Z 
212-998-5051 
kdb257@nyu.edu 
Schedule an appointment

Students should view orientation information

Students will also receive a link to online orientation in June.

Art and Art Professions

Barney Building, 34 Stuyvesant Street, 3rd Floor
David Darts, Chair

Art and Art Professions
Program/Adviser(s)Orientation Dates

Art Education 

Dipti Desai
212-998-9022
dd25@nyu.edu

Erin Sircy
212-998-5753
erin.sircy@nyu.edu

Art Therapy

Ikuko Acosta
212-998-5726
ia4@nyu.edu

Costume Studies

Nancy Deihl
212-998-5762
ndb2012@nyu.edu


Studio Art

Mary Ann Santos
212-998-5702
mas9@nyu.edu



Visual Arts Administration

Erin Sircy
212-998-5753
ecs214@nyu.edu

Sandra Lang
212-998-5723
sandra.lang@nyu.edu

 Art Education
Day and Hour: Tuesday, 12:00 - 4:00 pm
Date: May 28, 2013
Location: Barney 6E, 34 Stuyvesant Street
Contact: 212-998-9022

 


Art Therapy

Day and Hour: Thursday, 5:00 pm
Date: August 29, 2013
Location: Barney, 1st Floor, 34 Stuyvesant Street
Contact: 212-998-5726

Costume Studies

Day and Hour: Thursday, 10:00 am
Date: August 29, 2013
Location: Barney 403, 34 Stuyvesant Street
Contact: 212-998-5762

Studio Art - MFA

Day and Hour: Tuesday, 11:00 am
Date: August 27, 2013
Location: Barney 6E, 34 Stuyvesant Street
Contact: 212-998-5762


Visual Arts Administration

Day and Hour: Wednesday, 12:00 pm
Date: August 28, 2013
Location: Barney 6E, 34 Stuyvesant Street
Contact: 212-998-5700

Media, Culture, and Communication

East Building, 239 Greene Street, 8th Floor
Lisa Gitelman, Chair

Media, Culture, and Communication
AdviserOrientation Dates

212-998-5191

Day and Hour: Wednesday, 5:30 - 7:30 pm
Date: August 28, 2013
Location: TBA
Contact: 212-998-5130
RSVP for the orientation

Applied Statistics, Social Science, and Humanities

Kimball Hall, 246 Greene Street, 3rd Floor
James Fraser, Chair

Applied Statistics, Social Science, and Humanities
Program/Adviser(s)Orientation Dates

Applied Statistics in Social Science Research M.S.

Jennifer Hill
212-992-7677
jennifer.hill@nyu.edu

Marc Scott
212-992-9407
ms184@nyu.edu

Academic Adviser
steinhardt.a3sr@nyu.edu

Education and Jewish Studies

Robert Chazen
212-998-8976
rc2@nyu.edu

Ben Jacobs
212-992-9472
bjacobs@nyu.edu

Education and Social Policy

Leanna Stiefel
212-998-5758
leanna.stiefel@nyu.edu

Academic Adviser
steinhardt.edandsocialpolicy@nyu.edu

History of Education

James Fraser 
212-992-9475 
jim.fraser@nyu.edu

International Education

Dana Burde 
212-998-5052 
dana.burde@nyu.edu

Academic Adviser
steinhardt.internationaled@nyu.edu

Philosophy of Education

Rene Arcilla
212-998-5631
rene.arcilla@nyu.edu

Sociology of Education

Lisa Stulberg
212-992-9373
lms9@nyu.edu

Academic Adviser
steinhardt.socofed@nyu.edu

Orientation - Applied Statistics, Social Science, and Humanities
Students should contact an adviser for further information.

Music and Performing Arts Professions

Education Building, 25 West 4th Street, 10th Floor
Ronald Sadoff, Chair

Music and Performing Arts Professions
Program/Adviser(s)Orientation Dates

Dance Education

Deborah Damast
212-998-5865
deborah.damast@nyu.edu

Susan Koff
212-992-9384
susan.koff@nyu.edu

Carla Flores-Keniston
212-998-5534
crf276@nyu.edu

Drama Therapy

Nisha Sajnani
212-998-5258
nisha.sajnani@nyu.edu

Maria Hodermarska
212-992-9756
mh51@nyu.edu

Educational Theatre

David Montgomery
212-998-5869
dm635@nyu.edu

Joseph Salvatore
212-998-5266
joe.salvatore@nyu.edu

Nancy Smithner
212-998-5250
ns23@nyu.edu

Amy Cordileone
212-998-5723
amy.cord@nyu.edu

Jonathan Jones
212-998-5196
jonathan.jones@nyu.edu

Instrumental Studies - Brass

Wayne du Maine
212-998-5828
wd37@nyu.edu

Christopher Bush
212-992-9442
christopher.bush@nyu.edu

Instrumental Studies - Jazz Studies

David Schroeder
212-998-5446
ds38@nyu.edu

David Pietro
212-998-5252
dap224@nyu.edu

Instrumental Studies - Percussion

Jonathan Haas
212-992-9466
jonathan.haas@nyu.edu

Sean Statser
212-992-9466
sjs512@nyu.edu

Instrumental Studies - Piano

Marilyn Nonken
212-998-5612
marilyn.nonken@nyu.edu

Instrumental Studies - Strings

Stephanie Baer
212-992-9447
stephanie.baer@nyu.edu

Cyrus Shimon Beroukhim
212-992-9464
csb5@nyu.edu

Instrumental Studies - Woodwind

Esther Lamneck
212-998-5441
el2@nyu.edu

Matt Sullivan
212-998-5729
matt.sullivan@nyu.edu

Christopher Bush
212-992-9442
christopher.bush@nyu.edu

Music Business

Shanieka Brooks
212-998-5766
sdb328@nyu.edu

Music Education

Elise Sobol
212-998-5778
es86@nyu.edu

Michael Breaux
212-998-5613
mlb16@nyu.edu

Music Technology

Eleanor Sparaccio
212-998-5071
el1696@nyu.edu

Music Therapy

Kenneth Aigen
212-998-5284
ka5@nyu.edu

Judi Rubin-Bosco
212-998-5452
jfb3@nyu.edu

Music Composition

Julia Wolfe
212-998-5768
j.wolfe@nyu.edu

Robert Honstein
212-992-7674
rsh7@nyu.edu

Screen Scoring/Composition

Ron Sadoff
212-998-5779
rhs6@nyu.edu

Mark Suozzo
212-992-9462
mark.suozzo@nyu.edu

Sergi Casanelles
212-998-5764
sc2839@nyu.edu

Songwriting/Composition

Phil Galdston
212-992-9460
phil.galdston@nyu.edu

Vocal Performance

Ana Flavia Zuim
212-998-5008
anaflaviazuim@nyu.edu

Meg Bussert
212-992-9446
meg.bussert@nyu.edu

Dianna Heldman
212-998-5770
dianna.heldman@nyu.edu

Paul Horan
212-998-5771
pgh1@nyu.edu

Performing Arts Administration

Richard Maloney
212-998-5505
richard.maloney@nyu.edu

Orientation - Music and Performing Arts Professions
Students should contact an adviser for further information.

 Nutrition and Food Studies

411 Lafayette Street, 5th Floor
Krishnendu Ray, Chair

Nutrition and Food Studies
Program/Adviser(s)Orientation Dates

Food Studies/Food Management

Jennifer Berg
212-998-5580
jennifer.berg@nyu.edu

Carolyn Dimitri
212-998-5580
carolyn.dimitri@nyu.edu

Sharonda McKinney-Brown
212-998-5580
sharonda.mckinneybrown@nyu.edu

NYU Dietetic Internship

Lisa Sasson
212-998.5580
nutrition@nyu.edu

Nutrition and Dietetics

Domingo Pinero
212-998-5580
nutrition@nyu.edu

Frederick Tripp
212-998-5580
nutrition@nyu.edu

 In lieu of a single orientation session for graduate students, registration in one of the following zero credit New Graduate Student Seminars is required of all new graduate students.

FOOD-GE 2000 001 (Class# 3217)
Current Research in Food Studies for Major: FOOD, 1 unit
Meets on seven Tuesdays (Dates TBA) 6:45 p.m. - 8:25 p.m.

NUTR-GE 2000 001 (Class# 4392)
Nutrition New Graduate Student Seminar for Major: HOND
Fall term: Meets on five Mondays (Dates TBA) 12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Spring term: Meets on five Tuesdays (Dates TBA) 6:45 p.m. - 8:15 p.m.

 

Occupational Therapy

Education Building, 35 West 4th Street, Eleventh Floor
Kristie Koenig, Chair

Occupational Therapy
Program/AdvisersOrientation Dates

Occupational Therapy (Professional)

Offiong Aqua
212-998-5839
ooa1@nyu.edu

Jane Bear-Lehman
212-998-5846
jbl285@nyu.edu

Karen Buckley
212-998-5837
karen.buckley@nyu.edu

Tracy Chippendale
tlc223@nyu.edu

Yael Goverover
212-998-5854
yg243@nyu.edu

Jim Hinojosa
212-998-5845
jh9@nyu.edu

Tsu-Hsin Howe
212.998.7682
tsuhsin.howe@nyu.edu

Kristie Koenig
212-998-5852
kpk3@nyu.edu

Anita Perr
212-998-5833
anita.perr@nyu.edu

Sally Poole
212-998-5851
sp3@nyu.edu

Gerry Voelbel
212-998-5827
gv23@nyu.edu

Advanced Occupational Therapy (Post-Professional)

Kristie Koenig
212-998-5852
kpk3@nyu.edu

Occupational Therapy (DPS

Offiong Aqua
212-998-5839
ooa1@nyu.edu

Jane Bear-Lehman
212-998-5846
jbl.285@nyu.edu

Karen Buckley
212-998-5837
karen.buckley@nyu.edu

Tracy Chippendale
tlc223@nyu.edu

Yael Goverover
212-998-5854
yg243@nyu.edu

Jim Hinojosa
212-998-5845
jh9@nyu.edu

Tsu-Hsin Howe
212-998-7682
tsuhsin.howe@nyu.edu

Kristie Koenig
212-998-5852
kpk3@nyu.edu

Anita Perr
212-998-5833
anita.perr@nyu.edu

Sally Poole
212-998-5851
sp3@nyu.edu

Gerry Voelbel
212-998-5827
gv23@nyu.edu

Research in Occupational Therapy (PhD)

Jane Bear-Lehman
212-998-5846
jbl.285@nyu.edu

Yael Goverover
212-998-5854
yg243@nyu.edu

Jim Hinojosa
212-998-5845
jh9@nyu.edu

Tsu-Hsin Howe
212-998-7682
tsuhsin.howe@nyu.edu

Kristie Koenig
212-998-5852
kpk3@nyu.edu

Gerry Voelbel
212-998-5827
gv23@nyu.edu

Orientation - Occupational Therapy
Students should contact an adviser for further information

 Communicative Sciences and Disorders

665 Broadway, 9th Floor
Christina Reuterskiold, Chair

Communicative Sciences and Disorders
Program/Adviser(s)Orientation Dates

Speech-Language Pathology (MS)

Academic Advisers: 

Jenna Stoep, Assistant Director of Student Services

Kate Garcia, Academic Adviser

Sarah Mucci, Academic Adviser

csdadvising@nyu.edu

Orientation - Students should contact the department for further information

Teaching and Learning

East Building, 239 Greene Street, 6th Floor
Susan Neuman, Chair

Teaching and Learning
Program/AdvisersOrientation Dates

Early Childhood Education
Erin O’Connor
212-998-9473
eoc2@nyu.edu
Nathan Tovar
212-998-5490
nathan.tovar@nyu.edu

Childhood Education
Fabienne Doucet
212-998-7390
fd30@nyu.edu 

Nathan Tovar
212-998-5490
nathan.tovar@nyu.edu

English Education
Sarah Beck
212-998-5473
swb2@nyu.edu

Nathan Tovar
212-998-5490
nathan.tovar@nyu.edu

Environmental Conservation Education
Mary Leou
212-998-5474
mary.leou@nyu.edu

Nathan Tovar
212-998-5490
nathan.tovar@nyu.edu

Literacy Education
Katherine Stahl
212-998-5204
Kay.stahl@nyu.edu

Nathan Tovar
212-998-5490
nathan.tovar@nyu.edu

Mathematics Education
Orit Zaslavksy
212-998-5476
jag282@nyu.edu

Nathan Tovar
212-998-5490
nathan.tovar@nyu.edu

Multilingual/Multicultural Studies (Bilingual Education, Foreign Lanuage Education and TESOL)
Shondel Nero
212-998-5498
sin1@nyu.edu

Leah McNally
212-992-9368
leah.mcnally@nyu.edu

Science Education
Nathan Tovar
212-998-5490
nathan.tovar@nyu.edu

Social Studies Education
Joan Malczewski
212-998- 9017
jm186@nyu.edu

Nathan Tovar
212-998-5490
nathan.tovar@nyu.edu

Special Education
Audrey Trainor
212-998- 5205
aat8@nyu.edu

Nathan Tovar
212-998- 5490
nathan.tovar@nyu.edu

General Orientation for ALL Teaching and Learning Students: Students should contact an adviser for further information.

 

 

 

Academic Planner For New Graduate Students