NYU Steinhardt News

NYU Steinhardt Participation at the 2013 AOTA Conference

The Annual AOTA Conference and Expo took place from April 24-28, in San Diego, and the Steinhardt Department of Occupational Therapy is pleased to recognize the participation of the following faculty, students and alumni.

Steinhardt OT alumni Glen E. Gillen (B.S., ‘89), delivered the 2013 Eleanor Clarke Slagle lecture.  The selection as lecturer is one of the highest honors in occupational therapy, and recognizes an AOTA member who has creatively contributed to the development of the body of knowledge of the profession through research, education, and/or clinical practice.  Dr. Gillen was further recognized with a 2013 AOTA Service Commendation.   Also, honored were current faculty member and alumna, Tsu-Hsin Howe, who was named to the American Occupational Therapy Association Roster of Fellows and current faculty member, Kristie Koenig, who received a 2013 AOTF Leadership Service Commendation.

Members of the Steinhardt OT faculty also participated in a range of lectures and presentations:

Assistant Professor Tsu-Hsin Howe:

  • “The Relationship Between postural Control and Fine Motor Skills in Preterm Infants at 6 and 12 months adjusted Age,” with Tien-Ni Wang ‘10; Yan-Yu Chen; and Tzu-I Lee, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
  • “Visual Perception in Preterm Children at 5 Years of Age,” with Tien-Ni Wang ‘10; Yan-Yu Chen; and Tzu-I Lee, National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan and Yung-Wen Hsu, National Cheng Kung University, Tainai, Taiwan

Associate Professor Kristie Koenig:

  • “(AOTA) Harnessing Strengths: Your Secret Weapon for Transforming the Effectiveness of Your Practice,” with Winne Dunn, Jane Cox, Lauren Foster, Ellen Pope, Dory Shabata, University of Kansas, Kansas City, MO

Incoming Assistant Professor Tracy Chippendale:

  • “An Innovative Intergenerational Program: Impact on College Students Planning a Career in the Health Sciences”
  • “Life Review Through Writing: Enhanced Therapeutic Benefits of an Intergenerational Exchange”

We extend our congratulations to the following alumni and students who have received major recognition:

AOTA Roster of Fellows
Tsu-Hsin Howe
Joan Toglia

Recognition of Achievement Award
Linda Schuberth

2013 AOTA Service Commendation

Joanne M. Bartone
Nancy Robert Dooley
Glen Gillen
Sarah B. Goldman
Janet S. Jedlicka
Elizabeth Griffin Lannigan
Rivka A Molinsky
Meira Lea Orentlicher
Christine Peters
Mara C. Podvey
Victoria J. Schindler

2013 Educators Award
Beatriz C. Abreu

2013 Retired Educators Award
Hermine Deutch Plotnick

AOTF Leadership Service Commendation
Kristie Koenig

AOTF Award for Community Volunteerism
Fengyi Kuo

We would also like to recognize the participation of the following alumni and students

Gary Bedell
LaMar Bolden
Nettie Capasso
Catherine Colucci
Mariana D’Amico
Leslie Davidson
Steven Dubin
Sandra Dunbar
Chia-ju Fang
Rita Fleming-Castaldy
Jennifer Gardner
Kathleen Golisz
Florence Hannes
Neil Harvison
Jennifer Kalina
Lillian Kaplan
Nancy Fincelstein Kline
Julie Kornbluth
Karen Kowalski
Paula Kramer
Elizabeth Larson
Meryl Marger Picard
Lynn Ryan
Molly Schmidt
Sarah Schoen
Sharan Schwartzberg
Ruth Segal
Minal Shah
Lisa Sheikovitz
Karen Smith
Steve Van Lew
Tien-Ni Want
Suzanne White
Serena Zeidler


The Steinhardt Department of Occupational Therapy hosted its annual Alumni Dessert Reception at the conference.  The event was held at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront on the evening of April 26.  Faculty, alumni and students had a chance to meet, catch up, unwind, and discuss the conference.  Pictures are below: