NYU New Music Ensemble

The NYU New Music Ensemble performs a multimedia concert in NYU's Frederick Loewe Theatre on May 13, 2013, featuring composers from the Cherubini Conservatory of Music in Florence, Italy. More photos

The NYU New Music Ensemble, directed by Dr. Esther Lamneck, is recognized for the promotion and performance of contemporary music, using electronic music genres, which include fixed media works to live processing and interactive computer works. Performers in the ensemble include musicians who play traditional, ethnic and electronic instruments. The ensemble has premiered works throughout the United States and in festivals in Hungary, France, Yugoslavia, and Italy. In addition to their regular concert series at the NYU Loewe Theatre, the New Music Ensemble has made guest appearances at the American Festival of Microtonal Music, the Center for Women in Music at NYU, Merkin Concert Hall, Weill Hall, and major universities throughout the United States.

Praised for their close work with composers, the ensemble has received numerous dedications and commissions. Recent composers in residence have included Alfonso Belfiore, from the Electronic Music Department at the Florence Cherubini Conservatory, Paul Wilson from Sarc in Belfast, Theodore Lotis from Ionia University in Greece, and  Mara Helmuth from the Electronic Music Department at CCM. Recent performances have included works by Jason Bolte, Ricardo Climent, Kyong Mee Choi, David Durant, Lawrence Fritts, Lars Graugaard, Dinu Ghezzo, Elizabeth Hoffman, Cort Lippe, Eric Lyon, Michael Matthews, Ron Mazurek, Rene Mogensen, Robert Rowe, Asha Srinivasan, and many more. Recent collaborations include work with the School of Visual Arts in New York. The NME's performance seasons are filled with exciting works which often feature dancers, video, and new technology.



MPAWW-UE.1080/GE.2034 007 Prof. Lamneck. 15 to 45 hours: 1-3 points. Fall, Spring.

Nubibus, composed by Gregorio Panerai and Allessandro Perilli for full ensemble and electronic score

Latency, composed by Tommaso Rosati for full ensemble and electronic score

2532, Futuri Mancanti, composed by Niccolo Gonnella and Neri Catola for full ensemble and electronic score

Watch video of multimedia performance of Walk, composed by Lars Graugaard for eight players and interactive computer


The NYU New Music Ensemble
ongoing call for scores, New York and Italy

1. Electronic Tape works over which a flexible instrumental ensemble could improvise, to be staged and possibly choreographed for both musicians and dancers. 8-12 minutes. Electronic Music with videos are also welcome.

2. Works for various solo instruments and tape: 8 to 10 minutes
flute and tape; violin and tape; clar and tape; viola and tape; oboe and tape; cello and tape; bassoon and tape; contrabass and tape; marimba (perc.) & tape; piano and tape

Submissions should be sent to:

Prof. Esther Lamneck
Music and Performing Arts Professions
New York University
35 West 4th St., #777
New York, NY 10012

NME with composers from the Cherubini Conservatory