Developmental Psychology

Core Faculty

Joshua Aronson
joshua.aronson@nyu.edu

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology
Metro Center

stereotyping; self-processes in motivation and achievement; stereotype threat; social influences on learning; performance and the development of competence

Clancy Blair
clancy.blair@nyu.edu

Professor of Applied Psychology

NEL

self-regulation in young children; executive functioning and school readiness

Mary Brabeck

mary.brabeck@nyu.edu

Dean Emerita; Professor of Applied Psychology

 

 

values and conceptions of the moral self; professional and feminist ethics; intellectual and ethical development; interprofessional collaboration

Natalie Brito

Assistant Professor of Applied Psychology 

Starting Fall 2017

early neurocognitive development, memory, language, bilingualism, poverty, electrophysiology (EEG)

Gigliana Melzi
gigliana.melzi@nyu.edu
Associate Professor of Applied Psychology, Undergraduate Program Director

L-FELD

language and early literacy development, reading readiness, Latino family engagement practices in preschoolers education and learning, teacher & classroom discourse, dual-language learners.

Cybele Raver
cybele.raver@nyu.edu

Vice Provost for Research and Faculty Affairs; Professor of Applied Psychology

NEL

policy contexts of welfare reform and early intervention in supporting self-regulation and school readiness among low-income children

Selcuk R. Sirin
sirins@nyu.edu
Associate Professor of Applied Psychology

Dr. Sirin's Lab

immigrant youth development; cultural mismatch; school engagement; identity negotiation; meta-analysis

Catherine Tamis-LeMonda
ct1@nyu.edu

Professor of Applied Psychology, Developmental Psychology Program Director 

CRCDE

language, cognitive development, and social cognition in infancy; early influences on school readiness; infant motor development in social context; parenting of mothers and fathers; cultural views and practices

Niobe Way
niobe.way@nyu.edu

Professor of Applied Psychology

CRCDE

PACH

social and emotional development of adolescents; social (gender and ethnic) identities; intersection of culture, context, human development