Counseling Psychology

Affiliated Faculty

J. Lawrence Aber

la39@nyu.edu
Willner Family Professor in Psychology and Public Policy at the Steinhardt; University Professor at New York University

Co-Director Global TIES

social, emotional, motivational, and behavioral development of high-risk children and youth; parent development; program & policy research; neighborhood and family contexts; intervention design and evaluation

Judith L. Alpert

judie.alpert@nyu.edu 
Professor of Applied Psychology 

trauma, such as war, terrorism, school violence, child sexual abuse and child abuse. 

Joshua Aronson

joshua.aronson@nyu.edu
Associate Professor of Applied Psychology 
METRO

stereotyping; self-processes in motivation and achievement; stereotype threat; social influences on learning; performance and the development of competence
 

Elise Cappella
elise.cappella@nyu.edu

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology 

IHDSC

academic and social-emotional functioning among low-income children, the social processes of schooling

Carol Gilligan

carol.gilligan@nyu.edu 
Professor of Humanities and Applied Psychology
PACH

 

gender studies, Listening Guide method of psychological inquiry, psychology and politics of ethical resistance, morality, the relational world of girls

Gigliana Melzi
gigliana.melzi@nyu.edu

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology; Undergraduate Progam Director

L-FELD

language development and literacy experiences of Spanish-speaking children

Pamela Morris
pamela.morris@nyu.edu 
Vice Dean for Research & Faculty Affairs at Steinhardt; Professor of Applied Psychology

IHDSC

theoretically-informed interventions, strong attention to measurement of developmental outcomes for children, and cutting-edge analytic strategies on causal inference, and strong research designs

Selcuk R. Sirin
sirins@nyu.edu

Associate Professor of Applied Psychology

Dr. Sirin's Lab

immigrant youth development; cultural mismatch; school engagement; identity negotiation; meta-analysis

Niobe Way
niobe.way@nyu.edu

Professor of Applied Psychology

PACH

CRCDE

 

social and emotional development of adolescents; social (gender and ethnic) identities; intersection of culture, context, human development